Deposit Photos

The Rx For Nothing to Wear: Here’s Your Capsule

Julia E Hubbel
5 min readMar 16, 2018

If you’ve ever stood in front of your closet and wailed, “But I have nothing to wear!” you’re in good company. Often we’ve collected too many items that don’t match. Your closet’s a little queasy, perhaps from an overdose of season’s- end sale shopping. A great comedienne once said, “There isn’t a man in the world that can make a woman feel as good as a 75% off sale”…the problem is that after we’ve gone overboard feeling good about saving money, we still have nothing to wear.

I can relate. I had a huge collection of fashion “orphans”, sale pieces that seemed like a good buy, but later had to say good bye to because nothing matched. Oh that hurt. Giving Goodwill or a consignment shop a Prada skirt that retailed in the thousands, but I scored for $100. Yah. There was a reason for it, too. It was impossible to put with anything.

To fix a bulging, frustrating wardrobe I turned to stylist and closet-decluttering expert Sonja Motley. Sonja’s been in the fashion business her entire life. These days she consults executives, entrepreneurs and downsizers on how to do it best.

Your Easy Wardrobe Fix

The answer is a “capsule wardrobe.”

Capsule wardrobe is a term coined by Susie Faux, the owner of a London boutique called “Wardrobe” in the 1970s. According to Faux, a capsule…

--

--

Julia E Hubbel

Not writing here any more. I may crosspost. You can peruse my writing on Substack at https://toooldforthis.substack.com/ .Also visit me at WalkaboutSaga.com