by AO on Unsplash

How NOT to Go Broke Buying Fashion: Tips on Looking Terrific and Still Having a Life

Julia E Hubbel
6 min readSep 20, 2018

--

Fall is the perennial have to have season, with all the designers going all-out to snag our limited credit card capacity. If you’re anything like me, you periodically peruse the offerings, whether that’s to see what’s on sale at Matches.com or Farfetch.com, where I can see the uber-expensive pieces marginally reduced. Considering my rather marginal income, compared to those who can swing two grand for a cotton bespoke sweatsuit without blinking, I have to be extremely mindful of what I invest.

Particularly, since I am susceptible as most of us are to the lure of limited availability (BUY NOW ONLY ONE LEFT) when it comes to certain colorful pieces by my favorite designer, Mary Katrantzou.

If we buy sale pieces because they are on sale, and only because they are on sale and they’re pretty, we will end up with endless orphans (as I did) that are brag-worthy but ultimately worthless. Why? Because they’re hard to match. And being hard to match, our prizes sit petulantly in our closets until we get pissed off at them enough to dump them into consignment for pennies on the dollar.

Dumb. Stupid. My god how many times did I do that? Endless.

So I have some suggestions.

--

--

Julia E Hubbel

Not writing here any more. I may crosspost. You can peruse my writing on Substack at https://toooldforthis.substack.com/ .Also visit me at WalkaboutSaga.com